When Your Life Turns Upside Down

So I haven’t been on in a few days simply because my whole life just took a complete turn and I’m still unsure if it’s for the best or worst.

My husband comes in from a 12hr shift on the rig, sits down on the couch and says “Well I got fired.” I most definitely thought this was a joke by the way…I quickly learned he was not kidding! I literally start to go into a panic attack. “What are we going to do? We have a baby due in a few short months…His job was providing us with insurance…We had planned on buying a house by the end of the year;” and now….our life is one giant ball of uncertainty. I don’t know about you but if you don’t have OCD or any other kind of stress/anxiety related disorder you couldn’t even imagine the fear I have for the rest of this year. I don’t like not having a plan, or knowing how the bills are going to get paid, or what’s next.

Granted we actually got extremely lucky that my Father-in-law owns a roofing company and just decided this same week to expand out into the Permian Basin (Midland/Odessa) area and wants my husband to take over the contracting part and me to run the office work, answering phones and setting appointments. Now for my husband this is more of an extreme change in jobs because he has NEVER had a job where he has had to go out and find jobs, he has always just shown up and got told here’s what you need to do. How this happened all at the same time is still mind boggling and just goes to show you that everything happens for a reason. If this is for a good reason or not we are still trying to figure out.

Now I understand my husband has been wanting a way out of the oilfield for awhile now, it’s hard work, draining, and quite miserable. I could tell more and more everyday when he came home he was really hating his job, and I as many know when you hate your job you stop caring and start giving up…well on a rig that is the MOST dangerous possible thing that can happen. It can result in you getting hurt or someone getting killed. I guess this was the way this was supposed to go, keeps him safe and now out of the miserably draining job he has had for the last 5 years.

The idea of now working from home is not much of a reality anymore so where does this leave me? I guess blogging part time, putting some of my crafts on hold, more budgeting than we ever had to do before, and working in an office. This will give me more to be able to help my readers with such as how to go on and stick to a budget when you never had to before, how to handle curveballs of life, and how to overcome other obstacles that my husband and I will be facing with this new experience.

On the bright side of this whole flip of jobs it will give my husband more time to be home with the baby and I once she is here, I will get to see him probably every night which is a huge plus for us.

Leave a Reply

